Yesterday was on FULL day of training!

June 10, 2010 at 6:10 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , ,

Well yesterday was one full day of training.
I took my second six mile run- at about 11 minute miles.
What a dif from when I was young!
Then I could do 6 miles in 36 minutes no problem.-
That’s six minute miles.

I took my puppy (she’s a year now).
When we got back I took off her leash. She ran around in crazy circles
like we hadn’t ever been out at all.

But back to the training-after the run I had a Zumba class-
(great way to loosen up my hips, and back)
that was followed by Pilates-
core strength in any sport is so essential!

Anyway I had a great run, time to contemplate the auspicious idea that I
am going to run the NY Marathon at 51, just four years after a serious accident,
and that I am going to encourage you and others to contribute to my fund raising efforts
for The Women’s Sports Foundation.

Now why would I want to support The Woman’s Sports Foundation so much?
First of all, without them Title IX would have much less impact. It might have been
set up as a law, but without their lobbying and granting organizations to support
Women’s Sport not nearly as much progress would have been made.

SO why now? Aren’t girls sports doing just fine? Aren’t there plenty of programs for girls in sports?
Yes and no- yes tons of programs exist, and they all cost money- far more than we as parents actually pay.
But even more than the existing programs there are still too many girls who do not get involved with sports or being physically active.
Why is this important?
Simple- Sports and being physically active have been proven in plenty of studies to be PREVENTATIVE of all kinds issues and problems for people of all ages- especially adolescent girls.

And its still girls and women who are far less likely to be physically active than boys and men. The Women’s Sports Foundation encourages and supports all ages and abilities of girls and women to become more active.

By supporting me you are actually helping to decrease our national expenses by bringing the health of girls and women to a higher level.

Love to have you donate right now-
http://active.com/donate/wsf/gracerunning

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

