I’m running in the NY Marathon- Sponsored by the Womens’s Sports Foundation

June 5, 2010 at 5:13 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

“A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step” ~ Lao-Tsu

Yahoo! I am going to run in the New York Marathon on Nov 7, 2010. I am ecstatic!!!
What’s all the hoopla about? Why am I so thrilled?

The Women’s Sports Foundation has honored me and four others to represent them in the New York Marathon. To think that I have been chosen out hundreds. What an honor!!!

OK so my journey isn’t a thousand miles, its only 26 miles and 385 yards. It’s the New York Marathon. I have five months to prepare. What will I do to prepare?

Run of course- lots of miles.
I’ll need to run to get the endurance and strength for running 26.2 miles.

I’ll need to eat right. You can’t be running around getting ready for a marathon and not eat enough or the right kind of food to maintain energy.

I’ll need to be super organized with how I do things on a daily basis, cause as we all know if you fall behind in one area then a landslide of being behind in all areas is soon to follow.

I’ll need to do cross training. This is to maintain my stability, my balance, my strength.

I’ll need to meditate and visualize. These are ways I stay focused. To remember on those day coming up in August when its really too hot to live that I have a goal. And as the day comes closer and I have struggles with who knows what I will be able to regain my energy.

It’s a short journey, 26.2 miles, when I think about all that I need to do to be ready for that journey on Nov. 7.

Maybe I will have gone a thousand miles by the time I actually do the race.
And the only way to begin will be to take my first step in training. And then I will need to take a first step each day in one form of training or another.

I’d love you to join me on this journey.- How? No you don’t have to run the 26.2 miles. No you don’t need to stand on the side of the road and cheer me on- although I’ll love that for sure. No you don’t need to watch me on TV. So what’s left?

Well, there are two ways-
As I post my training and challenges, you can send your support and love by commenting. I’m SURE to need it!!!!

The second way is to join me in teleclasses. I’ll post about that tomorrow so come back to see what that’s all about.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

