Serious Small Town Snow Day Blues Here

March 9, 2009 at 12:18 pm | Posted in 1 | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Today is a snow day in NH. The public schools are out. When we lived in CT a snow day was as exciting for us as it was for the school kids because we always had a house full of kids those days. But now we live in a tiny village in NH. It has great advantages, but today the glaring disadvantage is really glaring us in the face.

There are only 39 kids here from 5 years old to fourteen years old. And the next town is a distance away.

Story of eight-year-old daughter today: This morning my daughter invited a friend to come over, but the father and the girl said that she wanted to go to work with her dad. So we called the next girl. That girl and her mother said they were going slow for the morning, but the girl would come over for lunch and the afternoon. I called about 12:30 to see when they would arrive.

No answer. I guessed they must have decided to go skiing. There was some mention that the mother might go skiing, and I thought maybe the girl decided to go with her mom.

I tried girl number three. And was told that they already had too many kids over and just couldn’t handle one more. THE OTHER TWO GIRLS were over there. I am crushed. My daughter thankfully has NO idea. And hopefully won’t.

Story of twelve-year-old daughter: The other two girls who are in this town are too entirely different from my daughter for her to even think of playing with. My daughter likes to play outside, be imaginative. The others hate the outside and are very “plugged in” kids. She tried to call kids from out of town, but they just couldn’t come.

Since my kids are home schooled they are accustomed to not having lots of kids all day long. But one of the dilemmas is that we used to be a haven for other kids. Now we are not.

It’s all part of the small town politics. We somehow got out of the “in” crowd and when that is the only group in your town it really shows up when you are out. Oh, the reasons are varied. It could be that we had lice years ago, even though we were not the first in town to have them. It could be we home school. It could be that my eight-year-old has had tantrums. It could be that we are not very “plugged in” or don’t eat junk food. It could be that these two children of mine just don’t really like each other.

Right now my girls are working at playing together. I am writing out my sadness for this turn of events, and then I will lift myself up from my bootstraps and take them out for a cross-country ski for an hour.

It’s tough to be the kind of parent I am – constantly using positive intervention, Law of Attraction, and being sure my kids have high self-esteem – and have my kids be left out of such things as play dates.

If you have ideas, suggestions, or similar situations PLEASE take a moment to share. Now I will atke my own advice and…

Live this day with
Passion, Purpose, and Integrity
Thanks, Grace

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

