Follow-up Friday: Natural Self-Esteem Questions and Answers Series Today!

June 6, 2008 at 9:06 am | Posted in attitudes, children, Creative Crayon Club, dads, Families, Family Time, Focused Fridays, Fun Activities, GEM Parenting Secrets, moms, Mothers, peer pressure, relationships, respect, responsibilities, Self Esteem, Thoughtful Thursday | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

1) I was brought up in a house with little self esteem by my parents.  Everything I did was not done right, with enough effort, or I just didn’t have the knack that others had.  Now I have two boys.  I think they are terrific.  I hardly ever want to tell them that they can do better for fear that they will end up like me. But I think I am swinging the pendulum in the exact opposite direction of my mother.  I read how there is a difference between egocentric and high self-esteem.  How can I know the difference?

2)         My children are constantly bickering.  It seems they cannot spend more than two minutes together without starting out at each other.  Then I get involved. We just go round and round in the same circle with no real end in sight.  And what bothers me is that I spend all my time telling them how awful they are.  I never seem to get around to letting them know that I even like them.  How can I get past this?

3) I have three kids.  All of them are exceptional.  They are good and better than most at just about everything they do.  I think they have really strong self-esteem but I want to be sure it stays that way and they don’t’ end up with some false sense of self esteem and just a bloated sense of themselves.  Any ideas?

Listen from your computer, call in live at (646) 478-4032, or ask a question in the chatroom. We would love to hear from you.

Please note: In order to use the interactive chat, you must register for free at www.blogtalkradio.com/gemparenting

Feel free to listen to our FREE radio show podcast from our latest radio show from Follow-Up Friday.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Self-esteem is an inner action, it’s only you building it. When you give esteem to others, you’ll get it back and you’ll build your self-esteem. An important theme. I’m writing about it too.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

